It’s the most wonderful time of the year in theater again: Tony Awards season! In anticipation of the 71st annual Tony Awards this Sunday, June 11, we take a look at Goodman Theatre’s connections with this year’s outstanding line-up of nominated theater artists. Get the scoop below, then cheer on the nominees as you watch Sunday night!

Lynn Nottage — Best Play,  Sweat

The current production of Sweat at Studio 54 marks this playwright’s Broadway debut. Ms. Nottage’s Pulitzer Prize-winning play Ruined enjoyed a world premiere production here in the intimate Owen Theatre in the fall of 2008, before transferring Off-Broadway to a staging at Manhattan Theatre Club.

Christine Ebersole and Patti LuPone — Best Leading Actress In A Musical, War Paint

War Paint‘s leading ladies—the Broadway legends Christine Ebersole and Patti LuPone, who are both already two-time Tony Award winners—have earned nominations for their turns as cosmetics business titans Elizabeth Arden and Helen Rubenstein, respectively. War Paint debuted here at the Goodman last summer and is now playing at Broadway’s Nederlander Theatre.

Christine Ebersole, Patti LuPone and company in the Broadway production of War Paint. Photo by Joan Marcus.
Christine Ebersole, Patti LuPone and company in the Broadway production of War Paint. Photo by Joan Marcus.

David Korins — Best Scenic Design Of A Musical, War Paint 

Mr. Korins also received a Tony nomination last season for his work on Hamilton.

Patti LuPone as Helen Rubenstein in War Paint at Goodman Theatre.

Catherine Zuber, Best Costume of A Musical, War Paint

Ms. Zuber won a 2005 Tony Award for her design work on Adam Guettel’s The Light in the Piazza, which received its world premiere at the Goodman in 2004.

Christine Ebersole as Elizabeth Arden in War Paint at Goodman Theatre.

Jefferson Mays — Best Leading Actor In A Play, Oslo

Mr. Mays, a previous Tony winner for A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder, starred in the one-man play I Am My Own Wife (by War Paint book writer Doug Wright) at the Goodman in 2005.

Jefferson Mays performs in I Am My Own Wife.

Cynthia Nixon — Best Featured Actress In A Play, Lillian Hellman’s The Little Foxes

Ms. Nixon alternates between two leading roles with co-star Laura Linney, who is also nominated. Ms. Nixon appeared in the Goodman’s 1984 production of HurlyBurly. While performing in the production’s Broadway run, she simultaneously appeared in Tom Stoppard’s The Real Thing—a play she recently revisited in a 2014 revival at Roundabout Theatre Company.

Cynthia Nixon performs with William Hurt in HurlyBurly.

Nathan Lane — Best Featured Actor In A Play, The Front Page

Nathan Lane performed in the 2012 production of Eugene O’Neill’s masterpiece The Iceman Cometh alongside acclaimed actor Brian Dennehy, directed by Goodman Theatre Artistic Director Robert Falls.

Nathan Lane as Hickey in The Iceman Cometh.

Condola Rashad — Best Featured Actress In A Play,  A Doll’s House, Part 2

Condola Rashad had the leading role of Sophie in Lynn Nottage’s world premiere of Ruined in 2009 and reprised her role when the play moved Off-Broadway.

Condola Rashad as Sophie in Lynn Nottage’s Ruined.

Gavin Creel — Best Featured Actor In A Musical, Hello, Dolly!

Acclaimed Broadway actor Gavin Creel performed as Hollis Besemer in the world premiere of Stephen Sondheim’s Road Show at the Goodman in 2003 (at the time, the musical was called Bounce). Also of note: the Goodman staged Thornton Wilder’s The Matchmaker—the inspiration for Hello, Dolly!— in the spring of 2016.

Gavin Creel performs in Bounce (pictured far right).
Gavin Creel performs in Bounce (pictured far right).

Michael Greif — Best Direction Of A Musical, Dear Evan Hansen

Mr. Greif is also the director of War Paint and has been with the musical since it debuted at the Goodman last summer.

Bartlett Sher — Best Directon Of A Play, Oslo

Mr. Sher directed the 2004 world premiere of ThLight in the Piazza, starring Kelli O’Hara and Victoria Clark.

Daniel Sullivan — Best Direction Of A Play, Lillian Hellman’s The Little Foxes

Mr. Sullivan directed the 1999 production of Eugene O’Neill’s A Moon for the Misbegotten starring Cherry Jones, which subsequently transferred to Broadway.

David Gallo — Best Scenic Design Of A Play, Jitney

Mr. Gallo designed the set for another August Wilson title, Radio Golf, produced at the Goodman in 2007.

Michael Yeargan — Best Scenic Design Of A Play, Oslo

Mr. Yeargan designed the set for the 2004 world premiere The Light in the Piazza at the Goodman.

Donald Holder — Best Lighting Design Of A Play, Oslo

Mr. Holder designed the lighting for Radio Golf in 2007.

James Earl Jones — Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theater

Mr. Jones had the lead role of Troy in the Goodman’s 1987 production of Fences, for which he won a Tony Award after the show transferred to Broadway.